Beef Stew With Oyster Sauce🐮🐮🐮

IMG_4139.JPG
I remembered the first time I ate this dish is at Serene Thong house, it was so nice that I ask her for recipe, but as usual, all the good cooks have got no recipe! 😱 she says she only “agar agar!” 😣 but she did give me some indication and direction. This is the 2nd attempt in cooking this dish, the first time I cook this, I forgot to take a picture before serving, so this time round I tell myself I must remember to take picture!! I brought this dish to Chris house for dinner and everybody loves it. Some even go for second serving!
Ingredients:
2 kg Beef fingers / gravy beef cut into bite size
2 tbsp oil
8 slices of ginger
2 tsp minced garlic
2 tbsp shaoxing wine
3 tbsp oyster sauce
2 tsp sugar
Hot water
Carrot
Potato
Large onion
Potato starch for thickening

Method:
Heat oil in a wok and fry the ginger till fragrant then add in the garlic and fry till light brown
Add in the beef, shaoxing wine, oyster sauce and sugar and fry till change color
Transfer to thermal pot, add enough hot water to cover the beef and boil for 10 mins, then leave in the pot to continue to cook till beef tender (or overnight)
2 hours before serving, put the inner pot back to the stove and add in the carrots, potato and onion, thicken with potato starch,
when boil, put back to the thermal pot and cook till potato is soft
Serve hot with rice

Leave a Reply

