Taiyaki (たい焼き)

IMG_4796.JPG

20140528-182631-66391918.jpg
I love Taiyaki, whenever I’m back in Singapore, if I come across a Taiyaki store, I will buy one and satisfied my craving, the problem with store bought Taiyaki is that the filling is way too little! So, I make my poor husband to go hunt for me a Taiyaki pan when he got a one night stop over in Seoul, Korea 😁.Lots of red bean fillings and craving satisfied! Yum Yum! And thanks 💋Irynn for helping me to modified this recipe to make it crispier.
Make 6 pieces

Ingredients:
150g cake flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 egg beaten
180ml milk
40g sugar
1 tbsp butter melted
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Method:
Sift cake flour and baking powder in a bowl
Add sugar and egg and use a hand whisk and beat well. Add in the remaining ingredients and stir well
In a small bowl, put in 70g of batter, add in the desire flavoring and mix well
Heat the Taiyaki pan over medium heat, brush some oil on the mould, pour the batter in, add the filling, cover with more batter, close the lid and cook till both side golden brown.
Flavor:
Chocolate – add 1/4 tsp coco powder
Green tea – add 1/2 tsp green tea powder
Pandan – pandan paste
Strawberry – strawberry essence and pink food coloring

Filling:
Red bean
Nutella
Cheese
Creamy corn
Banana
Blueberries
Raspberry
Peanut butter
Jam

20140529-081744-29864412.jpg

Leave a Reply

