Gluten Free Brazilian Cheese Bun (巴西奶酪面包) pao de queijo

I went to Brazil twice but I have never come across this bun until I saw Kenneth Goh posted this recipe on facebook, this recipe attracted me because it is gluten free.  I have been on gluten free for a few months now, I really miss those days where I can eat bread and cake whenever I want, now, my choice are very limited when come to bread and cake, so I decided to give this a try, this bun is nice when eats it warm, it doesn’t  taste so nice when cold, but the downside of this bun is, it is way too much cheese for my tummy to handle.  I’m making this again for tonight’s cell group as the host and her family is also on gluten free diet, hope she and her children will like it.

Ingredients:
(A)

80g water

80g milk

100g oil

1 teaspoon salt

(B)

244g tapioca flour

125g parmesan / cheddar cheese

2 eggs

Method:

In a saucepan, put ingredient (A) and bring to a boil, once boiled, turn off the heat


add in the flour and use a spatular and mix till well combined, it will be lumpy. Leave it to cool for about 15 min


Preheat oven to 180°C

Line a baking tray with baking paper
Transfer the dough to the electric mixer bowl with K- beater attachment or dough hook attachment.
Add in the cheese and stir till well mix

Add in the eggs and mix well

beat at speed  till the mixture is smooth.
Flour the bench top and your hand with tapioca flour 

Divide the dough into 12 equal portion and shape it to round and place on a baking tray

Bake for 15-20 mins until golden brown

Serve warm. 

Leave a Reply

