Paleo Banana Blueberries Muffins


I must admit I have cut down on baking cakes drastically ever since I try to eat “clean”, but for me, a cake and a cup of coffee is a nice way for me to steal a moment to relax in the midst of a busy day. When I tell my sons that this is Paleo Muffins, they are just as spetical as me.  But to my surprise they are really soft, moist and nice.  The first time when I made this, I uses 100g of honey, which I find it way too sweet for my liking, and it also didn’t rise.  So today, I use rice malt syrup instead of honey and I also letting the batter rest for about 20 mins before baking to give the bi-carbonate some time to do its magic.  Thanks Maura for the recipe!

Preparation time: 10 min

Cooking time: 18 min

Yield: 12 Muffins
Ingredients:

145g over ripe bananas (without skin), mash

80g honey ( I use rice malt syrup 100g)

2 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 eggs

60g coconut / olive oil

100g semi sweet dark chocolate chip

100g blueberries

Additional chocolate chip for sprinkling, if desired
(B) mix well in a bowl

240 g blanched almond flour

20g coconut flour

1 teaspoon bi-carbonate soda – sifted

1/4 teaspoon salt


Direction:

Lined the Muffins tray with muffin liners

In a large mixing bowl, add in the mashed banana, olive oil, honey, vanilla extract and mix well


Add in the eggs, oil and mix well


Add in (B) and fold in with a spatula and mix till just combine

Leave on table top to let if rest for 15 – 20 mins

Preheat oven to 175°C

Add in the Chocolate chip and blueberries and mix well

Spoon the batter into the muffin tin and sprinkle additional Chocolate chip, if desired 

Bake for 18 min or until a toothpick inserted in the centre comes out clean

Let the muffin cool for 5 min in the pan and then turn out onto wire rack to cook completely 
Place in an airtight container and store in the fridge for up to 5 days

Leave a Reply

